Civil Society Leadership Award Program 2016

The purpose of the Program is to directly assist future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development.  Awards are available for master’s degree study at various institutions across the world in the following areas:

- Communications & Media,
- Culture, History & Society,
- Development Studies,
- Economics,
- Education Management & Leadership,
- Environment & Natural Resource Management,
- Gender Studies,
- Law & Human Rights,
- Politics & International Studies,
- Public Health & Health Management,
- Public Policy & Administration,
- Social Work & Social Policy.

Applicants must select a field of study that falls within the general categories listed above.  For example, those interested in studying Climate Change or Risk and Environmental Hazard would select the Environment and Natural Resource Management option; for Sociology or Anthropology, select Culture, History & Society, and so on.  On the application you will indicate both your general category of interest and your specific field of study within that general category.

Civil Society Leadership Awards are available to citizens of the following countries:

  • Azerbaijan,
  • Belarus,
  • Cambodia,
  • Democratic Republic of Congo,
  • Egypt,
  • Equatorial Guinea,
  • Eritrea,
  • Ethiopia,
  • Laos,
  • Libya,
  • Republic of Congo,
  • South Sudan,
  • Sudan,
  • Syria,
  • Turkmenistan,
  • Uzbekistan.

Awards for study at German universities are only open to citizens of Azerbaijan, Belarus, Ethiopia, Sudan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
Applicants must meet the following criteria:
- Be a citizen of an eligible country,

- Demonstrate maturity, flexibility and civil society leadership potential,

- Have excellent academic records and a bachelor's degree awarded before the deadline,

- Have proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at the desired university program, as evidenced by standardized language test scores,

- Be able to participate in an intensive academic writing program in July or August 2016 and start their degree program in August or September 2016,

- Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country,

- Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development.

The CSLA program does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability.
For further guidelines, please click here.