Civil Society Leadership Awards 2015-2016

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provides fully funded master’s level scholarships at a network of universities across Asia, Europe, and North America. The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) for the 2015-2016 academic year are available for MA degree study in the following fields at universities participating in the CSLA program: Law and Human Rights, Politics and International Studies, Health and Health  Management, Environment and Natural Resource Management, Public Education Management and Leadership, Public Policy and Administration, Social Work and Social Policy, Humanities and Social Sciences, Development Studies.

Civil Society Leadership Awards are available to citizens of the following countries: Belarus, Azerbaijan,  Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Syria, Libya, Egypt, South Sudan, Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Cambodia, Equatorial Guinea,  Ethiopia, Laos.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:
•  Be a citizen of an eligible country;
•  Demonstrate flexibility and leadership potential;
•  Have excellent academic records and an earned bachelor's degree before applying;
• Have proficiency in the language of instruction (English or French) at the desired university program, as evidenced by standardized language test scores;
•  Be able to participate in an intensive academic writing program in July or August 2015 and start their degree program in August or September 2015;
•  Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country; and
•  Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development.
Applicants must complete the CSLA application to be considered for support.

The deadline is December 15, 2014.

Further information about the Program, including a list of participating universities and eligible graduate degree programs, is available by clicking here.

The CSLA program does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability. Award decisions are open and merit-based.