European Parliament cross-party Belarus Caucus

Belarus Caucus is an informal working group with the aim to bring together all those in the European Parliament who want to contribute to change in Belarus.

Membership is open to all members who are committed to a free and democratic Belarus. The Caucus links MEPs inside and outside the EU-Belarus delegation and complements the delegation’s work. The Caucus contributes to formulating a clear and coherent position of the European Parliament on change in Belarus and mobilising political support for this position at the European level.

Aims of the initiative are to:
• contribute to the development of a coherent and more effective European policy for Belarus;
• encourage exchange of knowledge and experiences between experts, NGOs and policy makers;
• establish and maintain contact with the Belarusian democratic opposition and civil society; mobilise political support for the opposition in word and practice.

The Caucus was established in April 2006 on the initiative of Jan Marinus Wiersma and Joseph Muscat (PES), Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert and Janusz Onyszkiewicz (ALDE), Bogdan Klich and Aldis Kuskis (EPP) and Elisabeth Schroedter and Milan Horáček (Greens/EFA).

Today, the following parliamentarians are members of the Belarus Caucus:

Jeanine Hennis-Plasschaert (ALDE), Arpad Duka-Zуlyomi (EPP-ED), Eugenijus Gentvilas (ALDE), Toomas Hendrik Ilves (PES), Milan Horacek (Greens), Bogdan Klich (EPP-ED), Barbara Kudrycka (EPP-ED), Aldis Kuskis (EPP), Anne Jensen (ALDE), Joseph Muscat (PES), Janusz Onyszkiewicz (ALDE), Justas Paleckis (PES), Aloyzas Sakalas (PES), Elisabeth Schroedter (Greens), Konrad Szymanski (UEN), Jacek Emil Saryusz-Wolski (EPP-ED).

Belarus Forum, October 16 (invitation)

Belarus Forum, October 16 (program)